Friday, September 27, 2013

Friday - 9/27/2013

Everyday I'm becoming more and more consistent; I feel as though it's getting easier.

Today I have two things I need to go out and do that are scheduled. Here are some of the things I need to do:

- MMA fitness at 12:30
- Critical Mass at 7:15

I'll write more when I come back from MMA.

EDIT:
MMA was fun, it was more like a quick crossfit class than actual MMA. I was a little embarassed that I was the only one who showed up; but then Abraham an Yumi showed up a little later so it wasn't just me and Dismaris punching things.

I've decided to not go to Critical Mass tonight, seeing as it would be just myself. I might still go, though, but being alone is just a little sad. But does it have to be? Why can't I just go ride around Downtown Miami and have fun for an hour or two? I'll think about it.

I've bought the Freeletics app for android. It finally came out like, TODAY so I was actually pretty lucky. I want to try it out seeing as people have had good success with it.

For now, I'm in lab finishing up some of the capturing I've been meaning to do. Hopefully I'll be getting out of here by 6.

Anyway, things I need to do:
- Read 20 pages of Dubins
- Car Maintenance
- Face Mask
- Freeletics app and scans
- MakeMeal plan... again
- visit Nicole at the hospital
- Get Gas
- Research cruise lines
- Organize Japanese studying and go ahead with it.
- Capture an area at lab

When I'm done with the area, I will organize the priorities from this list.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Wednesday - Thoughts and Plan

Lately I've been feeling easily angered and frustrated. The past three days, things Jennifer does seems to annoy me to no end. I wish she were more independent. I care about her tons and she's great company... but she doesn't make me want to become a better person. She strives for better things but nothing more than living comfortably in the future. Like I was telling Herney on that night out two years ago, I want to change the world, I want to make a positive impact in the future.

I have 3.25 months left until school starts back up. I've learned so many valuable things so far this year. I wish... this year would last forever. I'm having so much fun just trying to improve myself as a person and a professional. I am less fearful and stronger physically and mentally; I am more comfortable in my own skin.

I wanted to think about the state of things today... I found myself to be very distracted. In one of those moments, I thought to myself, "... I'm really distracted aren't I? That's my biggest problem now, isn't it? It's not the drive, it's not the fear (so much as disorganization), but it's placing my attention on things that really don't matter huh?"

I think, that might really be the final obstacle. Dr. Dismaris said that when I feel distracted I should think about my values. I think it helps but I need to make it a good habit otherwise the advice is worthless. Making that habit takes will power... Yeah... I just have to keep that in mind.

Making the habits work takes will power! Waking up from bed and staying up also takes will power because it's also another habit I need to develop.

1) Not getting distracted
2) Getting up from bed when I wake up

Those are the two obstacles I need to conquer. I sound like a broken record when I say it like this because I'm sure I've said that many times before... but I think the state I'm in right now allows me to be in the best position I've ever been to conquer them. Another habit I need to keep (but I'm not so bad at keeping) are the following:

1) Making the plan for today and tomorrow
2) Spending that hour before bed time to get ready for bed.

Right now I'm sipping on some of Greg's old sake and writing in this blog with Jennifer at my side. She's flipping through a Victoria's Secret catalog. I remember someone told me to seize everyday moments so I feel like right now it's actually pretty nice. If we regard many moments like this, will life be prettier or will it depreciate into blandness from over analyzing every moment? Something to think about. The sky right now is on the cusp of sunset, like the times I used to ride around on my bike in the neighborhood before settling down somewhere to think about stuff.

I was supposed to run with Michelle tonight, but she's so slow. I'm thinking, should I just run? It will be lonely and the ride there will only take 10 minutes but it sounds like such a hassle. Is it really though? At least I can run and drop off that letter I've been meaning to drop off. I want to make my list of things I want to do tonight and determine what I will do according to that.

Like some poster said some where; no excuses.

I want to be a hero. I want to act like a hero.

A - Things I Must Do
- Remember to go to the health office tomorrow to get my PPD checked out
- Read 20 pages of Dubin's
- Run around school
- Drop off the letter after running around school.
- Car maintenance

B - Things I Should Do
- Get rosetta stone working on the PC and laptop
- Organize Japanese study plan
- Read up on freeletics

C - Things I Could Do, but it's not the end of the world if I don't do it.
- Customize phone
- Get Dragon working on the PC and Laptop


I think I can finish most of this today. I will remember to fill out the form that Dr. Dismaris gave me that uses this form of to do list to grade myself. I want to grade myself every time I do this now.

V

Sunday, September 22, 2013

Sunday

So far, today I've:
- Vacuumed the floor
- Folded my laundry
- Got ready for the day
- Cleaned up a little bit
- Watched two episodes of attack on titan with Jenn

Things I want to do today:
- Read up on Freeletics
- Organize study area a bit
- Customize phone
- FMA numbers
- Put cardiac excel online for people to access
- Send an e-mail to Dr. Acuna
- Get Rosetta Stone working on your PC and Laptop
- Get Dragon working on your PC and Laptop
- Organize and get Japanese lessons organized that you would like to do consistently

So in this little handout book that was being given away at FIU during the first week of undergrad classes, there was some information in it that I found useful. By some really a lot of information that is useful... I could have used this book during undergrad myself actually... anyway, I really liked the section on how to make good to do lists.

Instead of explaining how to make it step by step, all I really need to say is what some of the terminology means:
- A = Must do today
- B = Should do today
- C = Would like to do today, but it can wait
- Under each of these letter categories, put in items for me to do today in order or decreasing priority (so, most important things to do first!).

So for today and now on, I want to put down the things I want to do today (which I put up top) and then organize them into this fashion. So here we go:

A = Must Do Today
- 20 pages of Dubbins
- Plan out food for the week and go grocery shopping, accordingly
- Car maintenance
- Put up cardio excel document on the cloud
- Send an email to Dr. Acuna
- Organize study area a bit
B = Should Do Today
- Get rosetta stone working on the PC and laptop
- Organize your japanese study plan: resource organization, things to focus on, etc.
- Read up on Freeletics
- Read up on sewing via r/sewing
- Drop off the letter to OSA
- Find a better E-book for Dubins
C = Would Like To Do Today, But It Can Wait
- Customize Phone
- Get Dragon working on the PC and laptop
- Determine what I'd like to put in my new picture frame
- Help find out about the cruises for our vacation

Monday:
- Check PPD and get PPD documents at the student health center
- Post SSA flyers
- Slide anonymous letter to OSA

V

Friday, September 20, 2013

Saturday

Plan for Saturday:

Things I want to do:
- Read up on Freeletics
- Bring food and enough charge for Barnes and Noble
- Read up on the sewing book at Barnes and Noble
- Car maintenance
- Organize study area a bit
- Customize phone
- FMA numbers
- Return seat covers at Costco and buy new wiper blades
- Put cardiac excel online for people to access
- Send an e-mail to Dr. Acuna
- Get Rosetta Stone working on your PC and Laptop
- Get Dragon working on your PC and Laptop
- Organize and get Japanese lessons organized that you would like to do consistently

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Sleep Study

Last night I stayed over at Baptist Hospital with Jennifer for a sleep study. I wanted to accompany her because I know if it were me I'd feel pretty lonely sleeping in a closed off room with people constantly looking over you over night. Anyway, I hope she gets the results she needs.

I've been having the issue of not planning lately. I think it's tied to fear... for whatever reason. I am still learning how to conquer my fears and so far I think I've been getting better at it. At any rate, here is the plan for the day:

11:00 am - Eat lunch, pay back Jenn $96, go to costco to exchange windshield wipers, install wipers on truck.
2:00 pm - Ask Dimitrios about which gene and probe to use for the FISH
3:00 pm - Perform the first step of FISH with Amanda
5:00 pm - Pick up Jenn from the Hospital and take her home. At home, get things ready for leaving to go study again. REMEMBER to ask Jenn for her ID card.
6:30 pm - Drop off letter at OSA office, Run around campus
7:30 pm - Change clothes, study at study rooms with Jenn's ID card


I will develop a study plan later on in the day... actually, probably while I'm studying.

Alright, off I go.

V


EDIT:

Exercise Plan
- Run around the school, twice if you can do it.
- 40 push ups
- Go into the gym on your way around the school and do some pull-ups
After this, go to the study rooms and follow the study plan.


Study Plan
- Scan the last 20 pages of Dubbins that you have read
- Read 20 more pages of Dubbins
- Review the First two modules of Kaplan Step 1 Studying and make notes for it
- For your 5 minute pomodoro breaks, you should do the following:
      - Look up Freeletics and other similar programs, look up the other sewing machine (and buy it, depending).



That's it. It'll take a lot longer than I think.

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Orlando

I took a bus that Han recommended to me. It had wi-fi, power outlets and comfortable seats. Round trip for $60. I wish I knew about that before!

The first day I got reacquainted with life and people here. Today I was supposed to go to the YMCA but everyone was lacking on sleep. Instead I went to take my mom to a palm reader, not because she wanted to see one but because her friend had a groupon. Afterwards we went to Costco and then home. Tonight is Burrito night since I promised my mother I would make her the burritos I always tend to make back home in Miami :)

It's 5:20 pm at the moment. There are potential plans of going out to a show that Garret is coming to see at 10 pm. Seeing as I have no ticket and no idea where it is, I doubtful that I will be going tonight. In any case, I will make plans now for whatever happens:

6:00 pm - Dinner
7:00 pm - Read Dubbins
8:00 pm - Do 10 questions on Firecracker
9:00 pm - Run in neighborhood - maybe run to Alex's?
10:30 pm - Shower, get ready for bed, then sleep.

Tomorrow:
I'm thinking of either going to the YMCA in the morning or running. It is Friday and so I'm probably going out with Alex or something. Trying to plan with these people is difficult.

6:20 am - Wake up, shower, breakfast.
7:45 am - Run
8:30 am - Shower, face routine, pack things for the day.
9:00 am - Take mami to breakfast.
9:30 am - Go to

Sunday, September 1, 2013

4 Days of Laziness

And I was doing so well.

Wednesday I was tired, legitimately tired (mostly because of the workout I did that left me sore and not willing to walk). I had trouble finding the motivation to stay up in the morning. Like... why am I even doing this? Is this really what I want out of life? This constant feeling of being busy? Running around all day... and what do I have to show for it?

The thinking profile I have in the morning differs immensely from the rest of the day; might just be a survival mechanism or whatnot. It only got worse when I started playing games with my brother and Sean until 3 am for two nights in a row; it essentially killed whatever consistent sleep I got from the days before. From now on, I think I have to set a strict limit as to how long I would be able to play. I need to follow my night time routine in the way that benefits me most. This is a lesson in selfishness I suppose.

Play from 8 to 10 at the latest.

10 pm till 11 pm = Write in blog and plan for tomorrow. Face routine, brush teeth, turn off electronics, dim lights, etc.
11 pm = Get to bed and fall asleep.

I would love to do that. That 1 hour window before hand is clutch.

So these past couple of days have been filled with Starcraft 2 and DOTA. I definitely had my fun... maybe I needed it; maybe I was too much work and no play to the point that I needed to binge on playing.

I need moderation.

Fine then. Today (Sunday) will be a day of moderation! Let's plan for today:


  • 6 am - 7 am: Take a shower, do face routine, clean dishes, and make breakfast.
  • 7 am - 8 am: Respond to emails and send emails. Also, make food for the day and portion them out in tupperware.
  • 8 am - 11 am: Plan your exercise for the day ( I think my foot has made its recovery). Play some starcraft, go to Wal-Mart and buy those Stridex pads.
  • 11 am: Head to the gym and enact the following:
    • Exercise plan:
      1. 20 minutes punching bag
      2. Run around FIU (1.7 miles)
  • 12 pm: Take a shower at the gym then head to the lab.
  • 12 pm - 6 pm: Finish all the microscope areas that are left! Enough of having stress over this!
    • While in lab... go over the kaplan lectures that you've done already and listen to another section (and another, and another, if you have the time to!).
  • 6 pm - 10 pm: Head to Pasion del Cielo and read Dubbins and BRS Physio (review and read some more).
  • 10 pm: head home and get ready for bed. Write in blog, kill electronics, do face routine and go to bed.

Great. Now I have a plan. Sometimes, that's all it takes.

While I was trying to sleep, I came to the realization that I have, so far, never loved any girl as much as I loved Amanda. Stupid.

V