Friday, December 13, 2013

Keep Calm and Cool.

Before my meeting today with Dr. Runowicz (Dr. R for short), I was feeling a little tense. I was part sad part worried about what would come out of her mouth during the meeting. I had arrived a couple of minutes earlier so I had some time to evaluate my behavior.

It was at that point that I began reading a book that had profiles of true leaders in Miami for 2013. They had many words of wisdom to give which made me feel at ease.They all seemed to have level heads resting upon their shoulders... maybe that's why I started feeling this way. I became very mellow and proper; I corrected my posture, I spoke with a low/comforting tone that was in no way rushed; I smiled and nodded without exaggeration. If I were talking to me at that point, I would have felt ease. I think the main reasoning behind this whole attitude was that it was a state of being that didn't require much energy to maintain. I felt (and still feel) as though that whatever needed to be done I could do it as I took my time. Why rush anything? If you take the time to do it right and on time, was there really a rush to do anything? Do things with purpose, and do them well. When the time comes to be rushed or expend a lot of physical or mental energy, you will have the energy to use it on since you are living in an energy efficient state.

Today when I was leaving school after my meeting with Dr. R, I was sitting in my car getting things ready to go when the car beside me had their driver come up and get ready to leave as well. Normally, I would try to hurry up what I was doing and try to leave before them. But... why? What was the point? It didn't matter if I left a couple of seconds earlier than she did; what I would have done was sacrifice some peace of mind and time I could be using to make myself happy and comfortable in my car just to show that I could leave earlier. It's silly. Now, of course, there are occasions where you would want to act quickly, but for those times, use the energy you didn't spend on daily doings and suddenly those time where you rushed won't seem so bad - just make sure to ensure that they do not happen too often.

Three things that I wanted to remember to write here:

- Starting out going back to workouts, workout at least once a day - whether it be cardio or lifting (try to alternate)
- Everyday is its own day. The only thing weeks, months, and years are good for are for record keeping and deadlines. Do not treat the weekend any different than a weekday; use them all well and take each as they come to take the full advantage of them.
- Be calm and cool. When the time comes to be swift, you will be ready.

My meeting with Dr. R was fairly uneventful. She seemed to be glad that I am on my return back and she sounds fairly confident that I can do well. For this I'm happy - I don't want to disappoint anyone anymore.

I wish writing in this blog didn't feel like such a chore. It doesn't take more than 20 minutes to really write down everything I'd like. Perhaps over time it won't feel so bad and with my new demeanor it won't take such a toll on what remains of my energy.

V

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Cruise thoughts.

I remember... feeling trapped on that ship. Without internet, a lot of the things that I placed my focus on at home didn't seem to matter anymore. Not really just not mattering, but moreso the reason for them being a focus in my life came out as being silly. Why was the internet and video games even that important? I remember that once I had returned home, I didn't really want to use the internet. What was the point of sitting on my butt for hours staring at a screen? I enjoyed walking around the boat with everything at a walks convenience.

I think that was part of it too. Back in Miami, I have to load up my car with bags of things that I would need to enjoy a productive day. A bag for the gym, a bag of food for the day, and my backpack with my study things for the day. The gym is at the opposite side of the campus, where I have to bike there since everything I do on campus in on the other side. I shower there, bike back, grab the other two bags, put food bag in fridge, take some food and put it in backpack, go to a study room and unload everything, study for a little bit, eat something, study some more, pack up, take two bags to the car, go home, unload all three bags into the house after walking up three stories, do the same thing again tomorrow.

On the boat, I could leave everything in our cabin and go off to the gym, walk back, shower, grab pack of small things, go read somewhere relaxing, if hungry I can just pack up the little things I have and grab some food nearby (short walking distance), eat something small but filling and go back to reading or whatever. If I forgot something, it's a quick walk to the cabin and there I can just drop off things that I don't need anymore.

Cruise ships are definitely not a true representation of real life, unless you're wealthy I suppose. I suppose real life takes a lot more effort to become efficient in. Today was my first day going back to "med school." I am auditing the renal course I had already taken in order to start adjusting to med school life in time for Neurology, the last course I need to finish my second year. Although I woke up early thanks to Jennifers alarm clock a 5:30 am, and I as able to get food ready for the day as well as prepare fully for the day, I couldn't help but feel exhausted by 11:00 am. I was mentally exhausted from class as well as carrying around books and food for the first part of the day.

The only solution is practice and habit formation. I will continue to do this everyday as it becomes easier. I will prepare my bags for the things I want to accomplish everyday.

 I have many productive thoughts everyday, I think it would be wise to write in here more often so that my entries become less wordy and filled with more relevant information.

I did put notepads in my bathroom and bedroom. I found them to be very helpful! I do come up with some good ideas when I'm lying down in my bed or in the tub o I'm glad I put them there. I also put one in the living room and there is already a notepad on the refrigerator. Maybe some cool ideas I have will actually get done.

Anywho, I think I've written enough this time around. I will try to go to sleep by 10 pm and wake up early for a productive day. I will stop using the PC around 9 pm so I will have 1 hour of no visual stimulation. It's time to use all of the techniques I have accumulated this year!


  • - Sleep hygiene
  • - Planning at night for the day ahead
  • - Getting everything ready for tomorrow morning the night before (food, clothes etc).
  • - Mindfulness and meditation
    • What were the good and bad things that happened today? What could you have done differently?
  • Eating well
    • Drinking water often
    • Protein heavy meals
    • Eating every 2/3 hours

Tomorrow I want to plan an exercise routine... or hell even tonight.


Last day of Cruise

December 6th, 2013

Today is the last day of our voyage around the Caribbean. The last time I remember the stars being this visible and bright was during my Outdoor Adventure trip to Cumberland Island in Georgia. The second night we were here I remember Michael and I went to the top most deck on the boat and laid down on the chairs to see the stars. Although there was much light on the ship, if you cupped your hands around your eyes you could see so many stars. It was really brilliant; I think it was the best part of the whole trip.

We did many things while on the boat that we couldn’t do normally. We ate, a lot, mostly. We went to a comedy show or two, saw a comedian/magician named Marcus Monroe who was really the best show I saw on the cruise. We won $50 at BINGO (while spending $20 on BINGO cards, so $30 net gain), I went down the two water slides on top of the boat, I played basketball on top of the ship, played mini-golf with Michael (twice), went to the gym, ran around the ship (two miles) and most of all just relaxed.

Really… I remember distinctly not looking forward to traveling to the different islands. Since we realized that the only way we can do fun things off of the boat was to pay more money, our options were limited. The cruise had cost $2100 not including $100 for parking, so it’s not hard to see why we wouldn’t want to spend more money. Nassau was really hot; it was our first stop and the most disappointing. The taxis to take you to the interesting parts of the island were sketchy and mostly broken down. It was plain to see that the island survived mainly on the tourism that these boats brought to the island. Paradise Island was adjacent to Nassau and was accessible through taxi; since we did not plan correctly, we ended up just visiting the shops in the shopping district. It felt more like a giant flea market, however. The other two islands were significantly more beautiful and interesting. In St. Thomas, my father relented and purchased 4 tickets for a tour of the island. It was nice, I’m glad we were able to do something like that. We went up, down, on the wrong side of the road, all over the island. We were dropped off at, “Blackbeards’ Castle” which was just a lookout tower that was on top of a dungeon where he was supposedly imprisoned for some time. From there we walked down to see some tourist attractions and that was it – shops after that.

St. Marten was nice too; we paid $3 each for a one way taxi cab ride to downtown and the beaches. There we paid $20 more for 4 beach recliners, a parasol and wi-fi. Thanks to this, I was able to snorkel a bit, something I’ve been longing to do ever since we started this trip. Both St. Thomas and St. Marten were beautiful islands with huge mountains and plenty of foliage. They were U.S. and Dutch/French owned, respectively. On St. Thomas, I was able to call Jenn and tell her how much I had missed her these past two weeks. Absence indeed makes the heart grow fonder; I miss her still and I can’t wait to see her and give her some presents.

Even after seeing all of these islands and officially going out of the country for the first time in my life, I felt the best part of this trip was definitely the boat. Right now, I’m on our room balcony typing this in the middle of the night – my only light being that of my laptop. I see the abyss of the ocean staring back at me with more than a few glimmering stars and the sound and sights of the roaring ocean beneath us as we soar towards home to Port Canaveral. Although I’ve seen this for the past week, I know that once it is gone that I will miss it dearly. I hate living in Miami, that concrete jungle. If ever anyone wanted a metaphor for a land sucked of its soul it would be that city; superficial, wretched and drowning in ignorance, poverty, and stubbornness. Every time I come back to Orlando I am bombarded by its people’s kindness and natural surroundings. Although Orlando is still a big city, it has definitely retained its moniker, “the city beautiful.”

It’s not just these things I was thinking about too. A week without internet was just what I needed. Not having it made me realize just how trivial it was thinking and worrying about all the things that are happening online. Social media is important nowadays for many things but for me personally I think it’s rubbish. I realize now that it’s the social equivalent of Microsoft points on xbox live or karma on reddit; they are points that have no value and truly don’t mean a thing – pure rubbish.

Being here made me default to things that are truly valuable to me. I found that not having the internet around made going to the gym seem less like a chore and more like play time. This may be due to the fact that the gym is so close to my room and I am able to change fairly quickly and get on with my day, but even so, I think if the gym was further away I would still make the trek… eventually.

Maybe that’s what I need. I needed to get rid of the distractions in my life. The internet really is a huge one and now that I have a 3DS that could prove to be another one. I’ll have to use the 3DS responsibly in the way that I promised myself I would – as a small break while studying.


I have way too many nice thoughts that I wish I could write down. I need to start carrying a small notebook with me along with a pen. In my apartment, I want to leave notepads in every room so that if  a good idea comes up I will be able to write it down promptly with no problem.

V

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Library

Attention.

A couple of days ago, I was watching a video of a sniper patiently enjoying his target practice in the comfort of his own backyard (he had a large property). It occurred to me at that moment, strangely enough, that this man's attention was solely on his target. Nothing was distracting him, and he shot true. He was able to focus and hit his target well.

It occurred to me at that moment that this is much like a lot of things in life; our goals and ambitions are much like that target the sniper was so intensely focused on. Sure life isn't as straight of a path like the bullet coming out of a barrel, but it does perspective on how we should try to live life if one of the goals is a lofty one.

Medicine definitely is not easy; just getting into medical school is hard enough. Time and attention and two very big commodities while attending school; our target is landing that residency spot we so desire. What's the best way to hit our target? To have our whole un-abiding focus on that target.

This is not realistic in most cases for the average medical student in the U.S.; what I CAN do realistically is be aware that attention/focus/awareness is just as much of a commodity as time is.

I remember during the past week that a lot of my time was placed in playing video games, watching movies or browsing the internet. There's nothing wrong with that... especially if I am stressed, but everything in moderation. I found that after a couple of hours of doing just what I described that I felt my head was full of a jumble of images, thoughts, articles, funny pictures, etc from the past couple of hours of playtime.

Our brains must work like that, I think, in order to best learn our brains replay the information that we've been exposed to recently and again while we are asleep. During this time, I found that I couldn't focus on even lying still; I felt like my head was overwhelmed with "stuff" that wouldn't let me progress onto things that needed to get done - I simply felt too overwhelmed by stimulus overload. I was left with negative emotions like helplessness and guilt. I knew what I needed to do but I was so overwhelmed by guilt that I couldn't do anything expect lie on my bed with the lights off and door closed listening to relaxing melodies, hoping the find some kind of focus as the lack of stimulation took over my environment. The worst part of it is that after constant mental and visual stimulation over several hours, the sudden lack of any visual stimuli was jarring and was asphyxiating my distracted brain. It was like coming down from an attack of withdrawal; a painful withdrawal.

This is part of reflection, definitely. I needed to realize that this happens to me. Now that I know that that kind of distraction and stimulation has such a detrimental effect on me, I can combat it by avoiding it in the first place (the best option, I know).

I am a real big fan of the Pomodoro method in that I work for 20 minutes and relax for 5. In those 5 minutes I can play a game or do something relaxing.

Right now I'm at the medical library after a long day of working in the lab. I'm tired; I have food but I am tired. I slept only 3 hours last night due to stress and so my tiredness is so far un-abating (at least, without coffee seeing as I didn't bring any (so foolish)).

Maybe I'll just go to Best Buy and buy the game while it's cheap.Yeah.

I'll do that and go home. Try to focus at the kitchen table for a little bit and then progress to my work room.

Good, good.

Monday, November 11, 2013

Electronics

I want to write a lot about my experience that I had today about electronics and my state of mind; however it being so late I think I'll sum it up with a couple of sentences.

Using electronics/video games/anything with a screen as a distraction for a little bit (nothing more than 20 minutes) while doing something productive is OK (when doing something productive, 5 minutes is ideal like with using Pomodoro).

However, anything more... for a while... really kills my attention. It fills my head with a lot of thoughts... not bad or anything just thoughts of what I've seen during my time online or playing a game or something. I feel like my head is clouded with all the sensory stimulation I had.

I had to take a long time today to get my head clear again and even then it's still not clear. I was, however, productive. I made food for the week that I could take to school and I did my laundry. I will elaborate more on this later today (since it's already 2 am).

Also, I wrote something down the other day with regards to "attention." I will also elaborate more on this.

Until then.

V

Thursday, November 7, 2013

The Times I Hate My Life

Include when I am up all night and I haven't done anything productive.

There's distractions and there's ruining the potential of performing well the following day.

Balance.

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Weird Beginning of the Week.

This week I have been trying to sell my Xbox 360 in order to purchase the new Legend of Zelda 3DS XL bundle. I've been thinking about it for quite a while; I would really like it if I could make it happen! So far, I've been having terrible luck with selling it. When I first posted the system for sale, the only offer I got was for $100 for the system and 4 games. Then today, I had not one but four offers. The first person who contacted me in the morning (6:34 am, actually) seemed like he really wanted to purchase it. Because of him, I told the others that I was in the process of selling it. Now, it seems, he has been avoiding me. It's frustrating, more so than I let on. I went to Dadeland mall in order to find peace somewhere by walking around where there are people. In the least, it calmed me down a little.

I came to Pasion del Cielo across the street because I thought that I may as well be productive in a place I like working in. I told the buyer that I was here since Panera was closing soon; if anything I'll get some petty revenge  from him feeling guilty (or even better, he actually comes).

Anyway...

I wanted to write down two lessons that Dr. Dismaris taught me that I think will help my life out a lot:


  1. Whenever you are in doubt about what the next thing you should do is (or if you are lacking discipline at the moment), remember your values. Adhering to activities that fulfill these values will also make you happy.
    1. Hanging out at home with Jennifer can be distracting. Remember your values! Do whatever it is you need to do in order to maintain long-lasting happiness.
  2. Whenever you leave town, you should make an auto-reply e-mail for people who send emails to you so that they know you are not available at the time for working.
    1. According to what happened last week... answering your e-mails is seriously the key to happiness.
      1. Not answering e-mails and letting them pile up is stressful as hell and pretty much ruined my day.


When I came back to Orlando on the 25th of October, I didn't take the time before hand to inform people that I wouldn't be actively available to address their concerns. This lead to some conflicts (albeit small) that could have been avoided.

I want to get a 3DS because it's something that all of us can get into. By all of us I mean my friends in Orlando. I think the number one reason, however, is that when I am studying using the pomodoro method, I will have something fun to do for those 5 minutes where I have to take a break. A 3DS is so pick up and go it's perfect!

Anyway, it' 9:30 pm now at Pasion. I figure I should do something productive. I think at this point I should look over my notes that I have made from Dubins and Goljan just so I don't forget that information very easily.

Schedule for tomorrow:

7:00 am = Wake up. Get ready, etc. Bring food with you this time!
8:30 am = Leave the house. Bring the present!
9:00 am - 1:00 pm = Lab
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm = See dermatologist and give her present.
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm = Run or Box at the gym, then shower.
6:00 pm = DON'T GO TO THE STUPID MEETING
5:30 pm = Head to Dadeland and study at Pasion.

Monday, October 21, 2013

Pomodoro

I've upgraded my Windows 8 to 8.1 and had to re-install and readjust many things on the PC. Took about 2 hours of work but I'm glad I upgraded! I really like the little things they've done with the OS. Anyway, I took it upon myself to fix my up study location to be geared more for studying than before.

  • I re-positioned the monitors so that they are both facing me
  • I started using the Pomodoro app more now and the results have been fantastic.

It's nice to have a little app on the side of your screen telling you to focus for 25 minutes; it's almost as good as having someone nearby you cheering you on and telling you not to give up. I've used it for 5 sessions today and have made some decent progress in my notes for Kaplan Step 1. I would like to continue this trend of solid work  and get better at working faster!

I've also realized something about Medical School. It's not really about memorizing EVERYTHING that you've learned in the years you've been here; it's more of knowing everything you need to know for a test and let it show as proof that you learnt it, at least for that exam. People are going to forget a lot of what they know I suppose, unless they have an established method of keeping most of it in long-term memory. 

Maybe that's it.

Maybe it takes a lot more dedication to put things into long term memory and, in turn, those people do the best. They review yesterdays notes, make notes for today, review notes from last week, review their new notes, make more notes, etc.

Reviewing puts things into long term memory, as well as making new notes of stuff you've already made notes for but putting it into a different format. Like, making concept maps on notes that you've made in the past already.

That's brilliant! I'll have to keep this in mind.

V

Saturday, October 19, 2013

Insomnia

I haven't been able to sleep lately. I've become the prisoner of my own fear. I will overcome, I must.

V

Sunday, October 13, 2013

Study realization

Ok.

I've been getting better at reading medical books. What's most important that I've learned, though, is HOW to take notes from books.

I tried reading the book first and then writing notes later after I re-read it ("review it"[with Dubin's]) and that was alright.

Next with a much denser book (Robbins pathology) reading it once through and writing notes on it is a pain.

For these types of books (and there are a lot of them), I will write notes as I go along. As I read and finish a paragraph, I will highlight/underline the important aspects of that paragraph and then write notes on it. This way, I don't have to read the book again and I will have a quick review of the text.

This will probably make reading a lot slower, but it will make me pay attention to the text a lot more.

Let's see if this works. I'm sleepy, need to sleep.

V

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Wednesday Night - 10/2/2013

Tomorrow I need to: [Red means do at home]

  1. Pay rent
  2. Send e-mail to Jose about the payment
  3. Get checks from Wells Fargo
  4. See if I can get a bank account that DOESN'T have a $300 minimum balance
  5. Capture one area in Lab.
  6. Complete Capstone form
  7. Cut 50 Note cards in half using the cutter on the 4th floor of AHC2
  8. Turn in two more contest entries for the headphones
  9. Email BeHip girl to see if we can change the meeting time for Friday
  10. Write notes based on the first lesson in Kaplan Step 1 high yield thing. The next day, go through the next lesson and then immediately review and write notes on it.
    1. Then review the notes you made for the first lesson
  11. Drill 5 more katakana
  12. Drill 5 Kanji and make notecards for them
    1. Will be more clear on what to actually write on the notecards later.
  13. Perform the first work out for freeletics
  14. Run around the school
  15. Make note cards for the following and have it categorized under "Japanese the Manga Way: Intro"
    1. Include: 
      1. Front:
        1. Word in Japanese (Kana and/or Kanji)
      2. Back:
        1. Definition
        2. Non-past version and leave space for Past version
  16. Read Lesson 1 for "Japanese the Manga way"
    1. Make note cards for the following and have it categorized under, "Japanese the Mange Way: Lesson 1"
      1. Include:
        1. Front:
          1. Word in Japanese (Kana and/or Kanji
        2. Back:
          1. Definition
          2. Non-past version and leave space for Past version
    2. Write in composition notebook about lessons and concepts that are important for that chapter.
  17. See if you can't finish reading Dubin's today. If you don't have time, just do the 20 pages.
    1. If you do finish it today, the next day start reviewing the book and writing note cards and a written note companion for the book.
      1. Maybe each day, write for one chapter (There are 10 chapters)
      2. Summary pages can be useful for this!
    2. If you finish reading Dubin's today, start reading Goljan pathology the next day!
Schedule:
  • Wake up at 6 am - Take your pill
  • Get ready for the day, eat breakfast. Prepare some food (protein shake, coffee, salad) since it will be a semi-long day at school. DON'T WASTE TIME WITH VIDEOS IN THE MORNING
    • At lab today, you're going to be watching something anyway. Watch a ghibli film while you capture.
  • Get to lab by 8 (leave the house by 7:30 am), capture an area while watching totoro or something.
    • Also, print out the capstone form from the lab printer.
  • Get bike and head to the gym, change, then run around the school. If you're not too tired from the run, do the freeletics workout on the second floor of the gym.
  • Shower and change then head to Wells Fargo to:
    • Withdraw money
    • Ask about checks
    • Ask about a change in the minimum balance
  • Head to GC to turn in those two entry forms.
  • Go to the 4th floor of AHC2 and cut out the 50 notecards.
  • At this point, it should be about 2 pm. Try not to take longer than this.
  • Pay rent.
  • At this point, either head on back home to do the rest or first go to a Starbucks or someplace nice to read the rest of Dubin's. The rest you can do at home :)
At home:
  • Set a time limit for each of the things you want to do at home. This way, you can be more efficient and MAYBE fit everything in to one day!

V

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Tuesday - October 1st

I downloaded this color relaxing app on my tablet. It makes for good meditation; oddly enough in the bathroom where light can reflect easily in the dark. Anywho, I figured out what I wanted to do while I was contemplating in there. Sounds weird but it worked.

Things I want to do today:

  1. Do Introduction of Japanese the Manga Way
    1. Write notes on the important things for the introduction.
      1. Make note cards for the following and have it categorized under "Japanese the Manga Way: Intro"
        1. Vocabulary
          1. Include: 
            1. Front:
              1. Word in Japanese (Kana and/or Kanji)
            2. Back:
              1. Definition
              2. Non-past version and leave space for Past version
      2. Write in Composition Notebook lessons and concepts that are important/pertinent.
  2. Read 20 pages of Dubin's
  3. Run with the Running Club Canceled
  4. Do the first workout for Freeletics Strength
    1. Perform one max exercise to see where you stand Couldn't do it. Will try harder next time.
  5. Capture one area in lab
  6. Download ringtones and customize sounds for tablet
    1. Ideas:
      1. TF2
        1. Sounds/OST
      2. Attack on Titan
        1. XL-TT
        2. Opening 1
      3. Earthbound
        1. Saturn Valley
        2. Pokey's Pokeys
        3. Theme of Bad Boy
        4. Porky Means Business
      4. Starcraft 2
        1. Sounds
      5. Inception
        1. BWAHHHH
      6. Portal
        1. Sounds/OST
  7. Meal planning for the week.
  8. Write Annum update for DCMA meeting.
  9. E-mail Allison about the numbers after your crunched them (with what you have analyzed)
  10. Car maintenance while the car is cold
  11. Car maintenance while the car is hot
    1. Transmission fluid and Tire pressure
  12. Turn in contest slip at GC
  13. Install Rosetta Stone on PC Downloading a new version
  14. Get Dragon working on the PC
  15. Contact people for LOA return
  16. Do laundry and put it away
  17. Wash dishes
  18. Apple lawsuit thing
  19. Install Windows 8.1 after installing new rosetta stone
  20. Fill out Capstone paper work
  21. Take out songs you don't like in your phone
  22. Make a smart playlist for your phone that will exclude the goljan audio.
  23. Write out values for your tablet lock screen
  24. Use the paper cutter on the 4th floor at school to cut about 25 note cards in half.

So I've completed a good majority of things on this list. For tomorrow, I'd like to get to school by 9 am and do the following:
- Go to lab and do that area
- Car maintenance while it's hot
- Turn in contest slip in GC
- Freeletics work out then gym later?

Then come home and do the rest.

Friday, September 27, 2013

Friday - 9/27/2013

Everyday I'm becoming more and more consistent; I feel as though it's getting easier.

Today I have two things I need to go out and do that are scheduled. Here are some of the things I need to do:

- MMA fitness at 12:30
- Critical Mass at 7:15

I'll write more when I come back from MMA.

EDIT:
MMA was fun, it was more like a quick crossfit class than actual MMA. I was a little embarassed that I was the only one who showed up; but then Abraham an Yumi showed up a little later so it wasn't just me and Dismaris punching things.

I've decided to not go to Critical Mass tonight, seeing as it would be just myself. I might still go, though, but being alone is just a little sad. But does it have to be? Why can't I just go ride around Downtown Miami and have fun for an hour or two? I'll think about it.

I've bought the Freeletics app for android. It finally came out like, TODAY so I was actually pretty lucky. I want to try it out seeing as people have had good success with it.

For now, I'm in lab finishing up some of the capturing I've been meaning to do. Hopefully I'll be getting out of here by 6.

Anyway, things I need to do:
- Read 20 pages of Dubins
- Car Maintenance
- Face Mask
- Freeletics app and scans
- MakeMeal plan... again
- visit Nicole at the hospital
- Get Gas
- Research cruise lines
- Organize Japanese studying and go ahead with it.
- Capture an area at lab

When I'm done with the area, I will organize the priorities from this list.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Wednesday - Thoughts and Plan

Lately I've been feeling easily angered and frustrated. The past three days, things Jennifer does seems to annoy me to no end. I wish she were more independent. I care about her tons and she's great company... but she doesn't make me want to become a better person. She strives for better things but nothing more than living comfortably in the future. Like I was telling Herney on that night out two years ago, I want to change the world, I want to make a positive impact in the future.

I have 3.25 months left until school starts back up. I've learned so many valuable things so far this year. I wish... this year would last forever. I'm having so much fun just trying to improve myself as a person and a professional. I am less fearful and stronger physically and mentally; I am more comfortable in my own skin.

I wanted to think about the state of things today... I found myself to be very distracted. In one of those moments, I thought to myself, "... I'm really distracted aren't I? That's my biggest problem now, isn't it? It's not the drive, it's not the fear (so much as disorganization), but it's placing my attention on things that really don't matter huh?"

I think, that might really be the final obstacle. Dr. Dismaris said that when I feel distracted I should think about my values. I think it helps but I need to make it a good habit otherwise the advice is worthless. Making that habit takes will power... Yeah... I just have to keep that in mind.

Making the habits work takes will power! Waking up from bed and staying up also takes will power because it's also another habit I need to develop.

1) Not getting distracted
2) Getting up from bed when I wake up

Those are the two obstacles I need to conquer. I sound like a broken record when I say it like this because I'm sure I've said that many times before... but I think the state I'm in right now allows me to be in the best position I've ever been to conquer them. Another habit I need to keep (but I'm not so bad at keeping) are the following:

1) Making the plan for today and tomorrow
2) Spending that hour before bed time to get ready for bed.

Right now I'm sipping on some of Greg's old sake and writing in this blog with Jennifer at my side. She's flipping through a Victoria's Secret catalog. I remember someone told me to seize everyday moments so I feel like right now it's actually pretty nice. If we regard many moments like this, will life be prettier or will it depreciate into blandness from over analyzing every moment? Something to think about. The sky right now is on the cusp of sunset, like the times I used to ride around on my bike in the neighborhood before settling down somewhere to think about stuff.

I was supposed to run with Michelle tonight, but she's so slow. I'm thinking, should I just run? It will be lonely and the ride there will only take 10 minutes but it sounds like such a hassle. Is it really though? At least I can run and drop off that letter I've been meaning to drop off. I want to make my list of things I want to do tonight and determine what I will do according to that.

Like some poster said some where; no excuses.

I want to be a hero. I want to act like a hero.

A - Things I Must Do
- Remember to go to the health office tomorrow to get my PPD checked out
- Read 20 pages of Dubin's
- Run around school
- Drop off the letter after running around school.
- Car maintenance

B - Things I Should Do
- Get rosetta stone working on the PC and laptop
- Organize Japanese study plan
- Read up on freeletics

C - Things I Could Do, but it's not the end of the world if I don't do it.
- Customize phone
- Get Dragon working on the PC and Laptop


I think I can finish most of this today. I will remember to fill out the form that Dr. Dismaris gave me that uses this form of to do list to grade myself. I want to grade myself every time I do this now.

V

Sunday, September 22, 2013

Sunday

So far, today I've:
- Vacuumed the floor
- Folded my laundry
- Got ready for the day
- Cleaned up a little bit
- Watched two episodes of attack on titan with Jenn

Things I want to do today:
- Read up on Freeletics
- Organize study area a bit
- Customize phone
- FMA numbers
- Put cardiac excel online for people to access
- Send an e-mail to Dr. Acuna
- Get Rosetta Stone working on your PC and Laptop
- Get Dragon working on your PC and Laptop
- Organize and get Japanese lessons organized that you would like to do consistently

So in this little handout book that was being given away at FIU during the first week of undergrad classes, there was some information in it that I found useful. By some really a lot of information that is useful... I could have used this book during undergrad myself actually... anyway, I really liked the section on how to make good to do lists.

Instead of explaining how to make it step by step, all I really need to say is what some of the terminology means:
- A = Must do today
- B = Should do today
- C = Would like to do today, but it can wait
- Under each of these letter categories, put in items for me to do today in order or decreasing priority (so, most important things to do first!).

So for today and now on, I want to put down the things I want to do today (which I put up top) and then organize them into this fashion. So here we go:

A = Must Do Today
- 20 pages of Dubbins
- Plan out food for the week and go grocery shopping, accordingly
- Car maintenance
- Put up cardio excel document on the cloud
- Send an email to Dr. Acuna
- Organize study area a bit
B = Should Do Today
- Get rosetta stone working on the PC and laptop
- Organize your japanese study plan: resource organization, things to focus on, etc.
- Read up on Freeletics
- Read up on sewing via r/sewing
- Drop off the letter to OSA
- Find a better E-book for Dubins
C = Would Like To Do Today, But It Can Wait
- Customize Phone
- Get Dragon working on the PC and laptop
- Determine what I'd like to put in my new picture frame
- Help find out about the cruises for our vacation

Monday:
- Check PPD and get PPD documents at the student health center
- Post SSA flyers
- Slide anonymous letter to OSA

V

Friday, September 20, 2013

Saturday

Plan for Saturday:

Things I want to do:
- Read up on Freeletics
- Bring food and enough charge for Barnes and Noble
- Read up on the sewing book at Barnes and Noble
- Car maintenance
- Organize study area a bit
- Customize phone
- FMA numbers
- Return seat covers at Costco and buy new wiper blades
- Put cardiac excel online for people to access
- Send an e-mail to Dr. Acuna
- Get Rosetta Stone working on your PC and Laptop
- Get Dragon working on your PC and Laptop
- Organize and get Japanese lessons organized that you would like to do consistently

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Sleep Study

Last night I stayed over at Baptist Hospital with Jennifer for a sleep study. I wanted to accompany her because I know if it were me I'd feel pretty lonely sleeping in a closed off room with people constantly looking over you over night. Anyway, I hope she gets the results she needs.

I've been having the issue of not planning lately. I think it's tied to fear... for whatever reason. I am still learning how to conquer my fears and so far I think I've been getting better at it. At any rate, here is the plan for the day:

11:00 am - Eat lunch, pay back Jenn $96, go to costco to exchange windshield wipers, install wipers on truck.
2:00 pm - Ask Dimitrios about which gene and probe to use for the FISH
3:00 pm - Perform the first step of FISH with Amanda
5:00 pm - Pick up Jenn from the Hospital and take her home. At home, get things ready for leaving to go study again. REMEMBER to ask Jenn for her ID card.
6:30 pm - Drop off letter at OSA office, Run around campus
7:30 pm - Change clothes, study at study rooms with Jenn's ID card


I will develop a study plan later on in the day... actually, probably while I'm studying.

Alright, off I go.

V


EDIT:

Exercise Plan
- Run around the school, twice if you can do it.
- 40 push ups
- Go into the gym on your way around the school and do some pull-ups
After this, go to the study rooms and follow the study plan.


Study Plan
- Scan the last 20 pages of Dubbins that you have read
- Read 20 more pages of Dubbins
- Review the First two modules of Kaplan Step 1 Studying and make notes for it
- For your 5 minute pomodoro breaks, you should do the following:
      - Look up Freeletics and other similar programs, look up the other sewing machine (and buy it, depending).



That's it. It'll take a lot longer than I think.

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Orlando

I took a bus that Han recommended to me. It had wi-fi, power outlets and comfortable seats. Round trip for $60. I wish I knew about that before!

The first day I got reacquainted with life and people here. Today I was supposed to go to the YMCA but everyone was lacking on sleep. Instead I went to take my mom to a palm reader, not because she wanted to see one but because her friend had a groupon. Afterwards we went to Costco and then home. Tonight is Burrito night since I promised my mother I would make her the burritos I always tend to make back home in Miami :)

It's 5:20 pm at the moment. There are potential plans of going out to a show that Garret is coming to see at 10 pm. Seeing as I have no ticket and no idea where it is, I doubtful that I will be going tonight. In any case, I will make plans now for whatever happens:

6:00 pm - Dinner
7:00 pm - Read Dubbins
8:00 pm - Do 10 questions on Firecracker
9:00 pm - Run in neighborhood - maybe run to Alex's?
10:30 pm - Shower, get ready for bed, then sleep.

Tomorrow:
I'm thinking of either going to the YMCA in the morning or running. It is Friday and so I'm probably going out with Alex or something. Trying to plan with these people is difficult.

6:20 am - Wake up, shower, breakfast.
7:45 am - Run
8:30 am - Shower, face routine, pack things for the day.
9:00 am - Take mami to breakfast.
9:30 am - Go to

Sunday, September 1, 2013

4 Days of Laziness

And I was doing so well.

Wednesday I was tired, legitimately tired (mostly because of the workout I did that left me sore and not willing to walk). I had trouble finding the motivation to stay up in the morning. Like... why am I even doing this? Is this really what I want out of life? This constant feeling of being busy? Running around all day... and what do I have to show for it?

The thinking profile I have in the morning differs immensely from the rest of the day; might just be a survival mechanism or whatnot. It only got worse when I started playing games with my brother and Sean until 3 am for two nights in a row; it essentially killed whatever consistent sleep I got from the days before. From now on, I think I have to set a strict limit as to how long I would be able to play. I need to follow my night time routine in the way that benefits me most. This is a lesson in selfishness I suppose.

Play from 8 to 10 at the latest.

10 pm till 11 pm = Write in blog and plan for tomorrow. Face routine, brush teeth, turn off electronics, dim lights, etc.
11 pm = Get to bed and fall asleep.

I would love to do that. That 1 hour window before hand is clutch.

So these past couple of days have been filled with Starcraft 2 and DOTA. I definitely had my fun... maybe I needed it; maybe I was too much work and no play to the point that I needed to binge on playing.

I need moderation.

Fine then. Today (Sunday) will be a day of moderation! Let's plan for today:


  • 6 am - 7 am: Take a shower, do face routine, clean dishes, and make breakfast.
  • 7 am - 8 am: Respond to emails and send emails. Also, make food for the day and portion them out in tupperware.
  • 8 am - 11 am: Plan your exercise for the day ( I think my foot has made its recovery). Play some starcraft, go to Wal-Mart and buy those Stridex pads.
  • 11 am: Head to the gym and enact the following:
    • Exercise plan:
      1. 20 minutes punching bag
      2. Run around FIU (1.7 miles)
  • 12 pm: Take a shower at the gym then head to the lab.
  • 12 pm - 6 pm: Finish all the microscope areas that are left! Enough of having stress over this!
    • While in lab... go over the kaplan lectures that you've done already and listen to another section (and another, and another, if you have the time to!).
  • 6 pm - 10 pm: Head to Pasion del Cielo and read Dubbins and BRS Physio (review and read some more).
  • 10 pm: head home and get ready for bed. Write in blog, kill electronics, do face routine and go to bed.

Great. Now I have a plan. Sometimes, that's all it takes.

While I was trying to sleep, I came to the realization that I have, so far, never loved any girl as much as I loved Amanda. Stupid.

V

Monday, August 26, 2013

Second Day

I stuck mostly with the plan I put forth last night. Instead of gym at 6, I went at 9. I did bench, squats, ran around campus, then changed, went to lab, came home, did nothing for a little while, and now I finished assessing what I want to my studying to look like. Here is what I came up with so far:

Study Resources:

1.       Books
a.       Books I know are useful and should be read:
                                                               i.      Goljan Pathology
                                                             ii.      Dubbins EKG book
                                                            iii.      First Aid – Organ Systems
                                                           iv.      First Aid – General Principles
                                                             v.      Robbins Basic Pathology
b.      Books I have
                                                               i.      BRS Series
                                                             ii.      Kaplan Medessentials Review Book
                                                            iii.      First Aid High Yield
                                                           iv.      Pre-Test
                                                             v.      Thomson and Thomson Genetics
                                                           vi.      Rapid Interpretation of EKGs
                                                          vii.      High Yield Series
                                                        viii.      Made Ridiculously Simple Series
c.       Other books
                                                               i.      Step up to Medicine
                                                             ii.      TAUS Method Step 1 studying
2.       Audio & Video
a.       Dr. Najeeb Video Lectures
b.      Goljan Audio Lectures
c.       Kaplan Video Lectures
d.      Doctors in Training Video Lectures
3.       Online Services
a.       Kaplan High-Yield 18 month license
b.      Firecracker
4.       Question Banks
a.       USMLE WORLD Step 1 Qbank
b.      USMLE Flash Card Questions
c.       First Aid Q&A For Step 1

Vision:
What is it that I want to get accomplished in the next 4 months?
What can I do to help make the biggest impact in the coming year and on the Step 1 exam?

Using vision, try to plan out what you can do with the study materials that you have. Make an everyday goal for studying that also falls in line with research, working out, and fun!


Ok, I know I want to start reading some books. I want to make some headway into them… but I also need a way to make notes out of them so that I can revisit the information later and learn from them.

I think I can do 20 pages a day out of most books… I think the book I will start with is BRS Physio.
Then 20 questions per day on Firecracker…
I could also do a lesson on the High Yield Step 1 course too! Yeah!
I would also love it if I could get some headway into Dubbins… 20 pages too.
After Dubbins I can start on Goljan Pathology!


While reading from these sources and writing notes, I can use First Aid and Kaplan medessentials to fill in some further information gaps that will really complete my learning.

On the weekends, I can listen to three Goljan lectures a day and take notes on them while listening to them. I can review two of those lectures on Sunday and the other two on Monday.
When I am done with all of the Goljan lectures I can move on to Dr. Najeeb videos, and then later to Kaplan video lectures, and then finally Doctors in training.




The next step I need to conquer is to plan out my studying for the rest of the week. I would like to do this tomorrow. For now, I'd like to plan my day to include this new study plan.

Tuesday, August 27th 2013

  1. Wake up around 6:30 am.
  2. Take a shower, brush teeth, face routine.
  3. Make breakfast, make food for the day, get out of the house by 7:30 am.
  4. Temporarily park behind the med school. Drop off food and backpack in lab.
  5. Park at Publix. Take bike and gym bag to gym by 8:00 am.
  6. Gym from 8:00 am to 10:00 am.
  7. Exercise Routine:
    1. Arms
      1. Barbell preacher curls
      2. Hammer Curls
      3. Wrist Curl
      4. Reverse Wrist Curl
    2. Shoulders
      1. Military presses (ant delt)
      2. Barbell Shoulder Press (ant delt)
      3. Lever Seated Rear Delt Row (post delt)
      4. Barbell upright row OR Cable lateral raises (lat delt)
    3. Leg adductors & Abductors
      1. That machine
    4. Pull-ups
      1. 4 sets of how ever many you can do.
    5. Crunches
      1. Crunch machine OR Marbell Push Sit-up
      2. Hanging leg raises
      3. Dumbbell 45 deg side bend OR Ab Twisting Machine
    6. Boxing (20 min)
    7. Shower! Change clothes
  8. Lab from 10:30 am to 1:30 pm.
    1. Go to EMIG meeting at 12:00 pm!
      1. Listen to lecture & answer e-mails during presentation.
  9. Lunch break: 1:30 pm to 2:00 pm.
  10. Study at the Med Library from 2:00 pm to 10:00 pm
    1. Finish up writing e-mails! Don't take longer than 30 minutes doing so.
    2. Read 20 pages of BRS Physiology
    3. Do 20 questions/day on Firecracker
    4. Do 1 lesson from Kaplan High Yield Step 1 course
  11. Leave for home at 10:00 pm.
  12. Eat, clean your face, brush your teeth, change into PJs.
  13. Read Dubbins until sleepy.
  14. Go to bed by 12 am.

My meal plan got a little side tracked today. I was pretty hungry. I will try to fill those hungry gaps with protein shakes. I realize that might be the better thing to do. And so, meal planning for tomorrow:

- Egg whites with sofrito + oatmeal.
- After gym - Protein shake
- Salad
- Cereal with protein shake
- Cottage cheese w/ fruit and nuts
- Protein shake

and I think that's it until home...

Here's to tomorrow!

V


Sunday, August 25, 2013

Success.

I have spent the past 3 hours working on what is the lean basis for a meal plan. Below is what I have written and researched.

Possible Daily Food Options:
This list is mostly geared toward eating leaner foods with a higher concentration of protein relative to carbohydrates and fat. The emphasis here is either for clean bulking or cutting down, depending on how much food you want to add or take away during a particular day of eating. Take calorie deficit/surplus into consideration for your goals.
·         Breakfast
o   Coffee
o   Oatmeal
§  Honey
§  Nuts
§  Fruit
o   Egg Whites
§  Sofrito
§  Vegan Cheese
o   Cereal w/ 1 scoop of protein powder and soy milk
·         Brunch
o   Protein shake
·         Lunch
o   Garden salad:
§  Greens w/ tomatoes, cucumbers, light cheese, light onions, any dressing.
o   Burrito:
§  Tofu crumbles, salsa, light cheese, greens, tomato, beans, hummus, guacamole, tortilla
§  Variation: burrito bowl!
o    
·         Linner
o   Protein shake
·         Dinner
o   Vegetable pot stickers w/ rice
§  Brown rice if possible
o   Burrito:
§  Tofu crumbles, salsa, light cheese, greens, tomato, beans, hummus, guacamole, tortilla
§  Variations:
·         burrito bowl (no tortilla)
·         Heat up tofu squares instead of tofu crumbles
o   Lentils w/ Brown rice
§  Variations:
·         Red Kidney beans
·         Lima Beans
o   Veggie Burger
§  Boca patty, vegan cheese, lettuce, tomato, guacamole
·         Night Snack
o   Cottage cheese w/ fresh fruits, nuts and some honey.
·         Day Snacks:
o   Tupperware with veggies:
§  Carrots
§  Broccoli
§  Cauliflower
§  Celery
§  Cucumber
o   Light yogurt w/ fruits and nuts
o   Protein shake
o   Strawberry/Banana smoothie
o   Fruit
·         Drinks:
o   Tea
o   Water
o   Coffee
o   Protein shake
o   Mass gainer shake
·         Foods to cut out:
o   Anything with dairy
§  Ice cream, milk etc
§  Makes you break out and bloated



I think, along with this, I should count my calories. I want to cut! I also want to maintain my strength consistent with the 9th week of my MAD COW work out. I will do this!

Below is what I ate today (so far) and what my plan is for tomorrow:

What I have eaten today:
  • Egg whites with cheese and sofrito
  • 2x Tofu Burger sliders
  • Coffee
  • Protein shake
  • Cereal w/ protein shake
  • Coffee

How I want to stay active:
-          Boxing
o   20 minutes
-          Swimming
o   1 hour
o   Use FIU pool and Key Biscayne! J
o   Improve your times
-          Running
o   10 minutes/mile and faster!
-          Sprinting
o   Not sure how this works, but do it for 30 minutes?
-          Cycling
o   14 miles,like shark valley!
-          Bodyweight fitness/Calisthenics
o   Not sure how I want to go about doing this. Research more.
-          Parkour
o   Use the $50 you have!
-          Flexibility
            o   Research more
-          Pylometrics
     o   Research more


Now, for Monday, what would I like to do? What is my plan?
-          The night before, get your food and things ready for the next day (do this every night).
-          Wake up at 6 am. Get ready for the day (take a shower, eat breakfast, morning face routine, put on gym clothes).
-          Leave the house by 7 am (get out of there!)
-          Gym by 7:30 am
o   Ask how and when to access the FIU pool
-          8:30 am – Cardio time
o   Run around campus! (1.7 miles)
o   Boxing (20 minutes)
o   Swim (if possible, for 30 minutes)
-          Shower at the gym then head for lab and do two areas
-          After lab, write in blog.
-          Study
-          After a couple of hours of study, Do about 30 patients for Broward.
-          Study some more
-          Plan out meals, exercise, and day for tomorrow and write in blog.
-          10 pm: Get ready for bed, do face routine, sleep.


We moved from Pasion del Cielo to the outside tables at Panera. It's about 7:30 pm at the moment and there is a nice breeze rolling in that is cooling the humid air. Jennifer seems to be concentrating more and is reading nicely. We'll go home soon around the time night starts rolling in. 

I have half a mind to go to lab after home and start working on some areas to capture so that tomorrow won't be so corwded with things I have to do. I might even sleep there. I guess I'll see.

I feel good that I spent this weekend  establishing the habits that will make my life more organized and planned out. I feel good.

V